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REQUIREMENTS AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR PRACTITIONERS 
HAWAII CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE APPLICATION 

 
 

The application is used by practitioners seeking a Hawaii controlled substance registration. Registration is 
required for every person who administers, prescribes, and/or dispenses any controlled substances within the 
State. 
 
Carefully read these instructions before you begin to fill out the application.  
 

REQUIREMENTS 
 
Who May Apply? The application is to be used by practitioners seeking a Hawaii controlled substance 

registration. A practitioner must have an active and current Hawaii license to practice. 
Those who have a DO, DOS, DT, DTT, MD, PO, or VE medical license may apply with 
this application. 
 
Registration is required for every person who administers, prescribes, or dispenses any 
controlled substance within the State. This is an annual registration.

 
 
Required 
Documentation 

The following items/documents are required when applying: 
• Completed application form 
• Hawaii medical license (PVL) 
• HI-PDMP account information 
• Payment of fee 
• Wet Signature Exemplar form (new applications only) 
• Attestation to Hawaii Law and Requirements form (new applications only) 
• Prescriber Education Attestation form 
• Copy of your federal DEA certificate (for renewals only; does not apply to 

inactive registrations) 
 
Additional documents, and a site inspection, may be required if you intend to 
purchase and keep your own stock of controlled substances for the purposes of 
administration and/or dispensation: 

• Pre-inspection required attestation and questionnaire form 
• A copy of written policy/procedures 

 
The forms may be found at https://law.hawaii.gov/about-us/divisions/law-
enforcement-division/narcotics-enforcement-division/.  

 
 
Hawaii Medical License 
(PVL) 

A current and active State of Hawaii medical license is required.  If you do not have a 
medical license or it has expired, you will need to obtain one through the Professional 
& Vocational Licensing (PVL) Division. You may visit their website 
https://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/ for more information. Our office cannot process your 
application until your license has been finalized. 

https://law.hawaii.gov/about-us/divisions/law-enforcement-division/narcotics-enforcement-division/
https://law.hawaii.gov/about-us/divisions/law-enforcement-division/narcotics-enforcement-division/
https://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/
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Fees Practitioner fee…………………………………………………………………………………………………$115 
Late fee (for renewals)………………………………………………………………………………………..$50 
 
An applicant may be responsible for the late fee if the registration is expired/inactive. 
If your application is not post-marked by your registration’s expiration date, submit a 
late fee in addition to your practitioner fee.  
 
*Fees are not refundable and are due upon submission of the application. 
 
If applying online, payment can only be made in the application via a credit card. We 
accept Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Discover. Credit card payments cannot 
be made over the phone. 
 
If you are submitting the PDF application, payment via check or money order is 
accepted and should be made payable to Narcotics Enforcement Division. 
 
Federal, state, and local officials may be exempt from the practitioner fee if employed 
by a government agency. Having a fee-exempt registration restricts the registrant’s 
practice to only the government location. If the registrant practices with controlled 
substances at a non-government facility, they must obtain a separate registration and 
pay the appropriate fee(s). Please review the Fee-Exempt Requirements to see if 
you’re eligible. 
 
NOTE: One of the legal requirements that you must meet to obtain a certificate is the 
payment of fees as set forth in this application. You may be sent a certificate before the 
payment you submit for the required fee(s) is honored by your bank. If payment is 
dishonored, you will have failed to pay the required licensing fee and your certificate 
will not be valid, and you may not do business under the certificate. A $25.00 service 
charge shall also be assessed for payments that are dishonored for any reason.

 
 
HI-PDMP Account Applicants must register with the Hawaii Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (HI-

PDMP) prior to obtaining a new or renewal registration. To register with HI-PDMP, visit 
https://hawaii.pmpaware.net/. Go to ‘Create Account’ and select the ‘New User’ role. 
Veterinarians are exempt and do not need to register.

 
 

INSTRUCTIONS 
 

You may visit https://ned.ehawaii.gov/portal/ to complete an online application for new applications only or fill 
out the Hawaii Controlled Substance Application for Practitioners, APRNs, and Physician Assistants form and 
mail it to our office.  The application form may be found online at https://law.hawaii.gov/divisions/law-
enforcement-division/narcotics-enforcement-division/. Applicants must first have an ehawaii.gov account to 
apply online.  Before completing an online application, we recommend you first see if you have any registrations 
under “My Registrations.” If you previously had a registration that is expired/inactive, you will need to renew 
the registration as opposed to applying for a new one. 
 
Most items on the application are self-explanatory, however, further explanation for each field is discussed 
below. Sections that are marked as required need to be completed. 

chrome-extension://efaidnbmnnnibpcajpcglclefindmkaj/https:/law.hawaii.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/12/Instructions-for-Fee-Exempt-Registration-New-and-Renewal-Requirements-Effective-04-01-2022.pdf
https://hawaii.pmpaware.net/
https://ned.ehawaii.gov/portal/
https://law.hawaii.gov/divisions/law-enforcement-division/narcotics-enforcement-division/
https://law.hawaii.gov/divisions/law-enforcement-division/narcotics-enforcement-division/
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Registration Type and 
Classification 

As a practitioner, you will select “Individual” as the type and “Practitioner” under 
Registrant Classification. 
 

Prescription Drug 
Monitoring Program 
(HI-PDMP) 

You cannot proceed forward with the application until you are registered with HI-
PDMP, unless you are a veterinarian. This is a one-time requirement to obtain a 
registration. You may register for an account by visiting 
https://hawaii.pmpaware.net/. You will need to create an account under the role of a 
‘New User’. After you have created an account, you may proceed forward with your 
application. Your account will be approved following the activation of your Hawaii 
controlled substance registration. 
 
If you already have a HI-PDMP user account, do not create a second account. Provide 
your HI-PDMP email in the field provided. Veterinarians are exempt from HI-PDMP at 
this time.

 
 
Locum Tenens Locum tenens means a practitioner who is licensed in the State and temporarily 

substitutes for another practitioner for a period not to exceed 60 days at that other 
practitioner’s registered place of business. These practitioners are not eligible to 
review an oral code number as designated by HRS 328-16(k).  
 
Should the circumstance change and the practitioner is employed for more than 60 
days and needs an oral code, you may inform our office in writing of the request. 

 
 
Legal Name Your name as reflected on your registration will match what is on your Hawaii medical 

license. If you would like to update your name, you will first need to contact the 
Professional & Vocational Licensing Division with the Department of Commerce and 
Consumer Affairs. You may visit their website at https://www.cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/ for 
more information. Once it has been updated, you may contact our office for further 
assistance. 

 
 
DBA (if applicable) “Doing Business As” means you will be working under a name different other than 

your legal name.  Your business name will remain the same despite a possible change 
in business location.

 
 
PVL Number and 
Expiration Date 

Applicant must have a current and active State of Hawaii medical license.  Select or 
type in the correct license type and input your license number, along with the correct 
expiration date. 

 
 
Individual Affiliated 
Organization Name 

The individual affiliated organization is the name of the company/facility you are 
working on behalf of (i.e. Queen’s Medical Center, Kaiser Permanente, Department of 
Health, etc.)

 
 
 

 
 
 

https://hawaii.pmpaware.net/
https://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/hrscurrent/Vol06_Ch0321-0344/HRS0328/HRS_0328-0016.htm
https://www.cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/


Page 4 of 8 
 

Hawaii Business Street 
Address

The address supplied must be the applicant’s primary practice location and an actual 
location where controlled substance activities take place. The address must be a 
physical street address in Hawaii and cannot be solely a post office box. This principal 
address is what will appear on your controlled substance certificate. It will need to 
match the address on the federal DEA certificate you will obtain afterward. 
 
For those electing to only prescribe controlled substances only need one CS 
registration. In the event a practitioner elects to administer and/or dispense controlled 
substances in more than one location, a separate CS and DEA certificate is required for 
each Hawaii location.  

 
 
Hawaii Business Phone 
Number 

The business phone number for the entity you will be working for.

 
 
National Provider 
Identifier (NPI) No. 

A 10-digit number used to identify yourself as an individual provider. This field does 
not apply to veterinarians. 

 
 
Mailing Address It is important that NED is aware of your current mailing address. This address is used 

to mail any notices regarding your registration, including duplicate certificates. The 
address DOES NOT need to be located in Hawaii. It should, however, be a location 
where the applicant can obtain mail. If the mailing address is the same as the one 
supplied for the business address, check “Same as business address” or leave the field 
blank. 
 
If this address needs to be changed/updated in the future, please inform our office 
right away in writing. 

 
 

 

Home/Cell phone 
number 

This number is required in case we need to contact you for application/registration 
purposes. 

 
 
Alternate phone 
number 

If we are unable to contact you at the home/cell phone number provided, we may 
contact you at the alternate phone number provided. 

 
 
Primary Email Address The email is to be used for general registrant notifications and to contact you with any 

questions we may have regarding your application. The primary email must be the 
registrant’s primary email. It cannot be the credentialing agent or office manager’s 
email address.  
 

Secondary Email 
Address 

The email to be used for general registrant notifications. The secondary email address 
can be the applicant’s alternate email, a credentialing agent, or office manager email.  
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Additional Prescribe 
Only Locations

The application must have a Hawaii business street address as your primary practice. If 
you have additional locations you are only prescribing out of (not administering and/or 
dispensing), those must also be listed on the application. Like your primary business 
location, this may not be solely a post office box. There is no limit as to how many 
additional prescribe locations you may have. You may add more than one address by 
selecting the “Add” button. If you are completing the paper application, you may 
attach a separate paper with the additional prescribe only locations. The Hawaii 
Business Name is the name of the individual affiliated organization you are working on 
behalf of. 
 
NOTE: If you intend to maintain controlled substances at other locations (e.g. to 
administer and/or dispense), you must submit and maintain a separate Hawaii 
Controlled Substance Registration for each location. Mobile practitioners may 
maintain in their personal custody a mobile inventory which must be secured at their 
designated business activity location during off hours. 

 
 
Drug Schedules Applicant should check all drug schedules to be handled. Please review HRS 329 for 

information regarding controlled substances and where each drug is scheduled. 
Practitioners are allowed to handle Schedules II through V. 

 
 
Drug Activities Registrants will be restricted to the activity selected. For the purposes of this 

application, please see the below definitions to ensure you are selecting the correct 
one(s). 

• Administer (from own stock) – applicant will purchase and keep their own 
inventory of controlled substances for the purpose of administering to 
patients by injection, direct application, and/or ingestion in the presence and 
direct supervision of healthcare facility or practice staff. An inspection of the 
office, along with policy review, may need to be required by our office 
personnel before the application can be processed and certificate is issued. 

• Administer (from other stock) – applicant will use another healthcare 
registrant’s stock of controlled substances to apply by injection, ingestion, 
suppository, topical, or any other means directly to the patient in a healthcare 
setting.  

• Prescribe – a written order for a controlled substance to be administered or 
dispensed by a pharmacist or another practitioner. 

• Dispense – applicant intends to purchase and keep their own inventory of 
controlled substances to send patients home with them. An inspection of the 
office, along with policy review, may need to be required by our office 
personnel before the application can be processed and certificate is issued. 
Applicant will also be responsible for mandatory reporting of dispensation and 
zero reporting to the Hawaii Prescription Drug Monitoring Program. 

• Certify medical cannabis use  
 

Attestation of Hawaii 
Controlled Substance 
Laws & Regulations 

Applicants are required to be familiar with the laws and regulations for controlled 
substances in Hawaii, HRS 329 and HAR Title 23 Chapter 200.  Check the box if you 
have reviewed the laws pertaining to practitioners. 

chrome-extension://efaidnbmnnnibpcajpcglclefindmkaj/https:/cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/files/2013/08/HRS_329-DPS.pdf
chrome-extension://efaidnbmnnnibpcajpcglclefindmkaj/https:/cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/files/2013/08/HRS_329-DPS.pdf
chrome-extension://efaidnbmnnnibpcajpcglclefindmkaj/https:/dps.hawaii.gov/wp-content/uploads/2016/07/HAR-Title-23.pdf
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Document 
Uploads/Additional 
Documents 

If you are completing a new application, you are required to complete, sign, and 
upload/attach the following documents which can be found on 
https://law.hawaii.gov/about-us/divisions/law-enforcement-division/narcotics-
enforcement-division/: 

• Wet Signature Exemplar (one-time requirement) 
• Prescriber Education Attestation form 
• Acknowledgement of laws form (one-time requirement) 

 
The files may be uploaded as PDF, DOCX, DOC, JPEG, and PNG. 
 
If you are completing a renewal application, you are required to complete and sign the 
Prescriber Education Attestation form. 

 
 
Questions In the event the response to any of the questions is “YES”, you are required to 

upload/attach a detailed explanation and provide supplemental information as 
directed on the application. 

 
 
Authorization Please read the authorization at the end of the application, sign, and date it.  

 
 
Application submission You may submit your online application by clicking continue after you have signed the 

authorization. 
 
If you are completing the application form, you may mail the application, additional 
documents, and fee (if applicable) to: 
 

Narcotics Enforcement Division 
3375 Koapaka St Ste D100 
Honolulu, HI 96819 

 
We are unable to process your application until it is complete and paid for. Please 
ensure that all required fields are completed, and all necessary documents have been 
uploaded. 

   
 

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 
 
Processing Applications are processed within 10 business days of receipt. If you completed the 

application online, you may view the status of your application through your online 
portal account. Should we need additional documentation/information from you, we 
will contact you via email/phone. You may also view notifications of your application in 
the inbox of your account. 
 
If your activities include administer of own stock and/or dispense, your application 
may be processed after successful completion of the inspection process. 
 
 

https://law.hawaii.gov/about-us/divisions/law-enforcement-division/narcotics-enforcement-division/
https://law.hawaii.gov/about-us/divisions/law-enforcement-division/narcotics-enforcement-division/
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Once your application is conditionally approved, you may visit your account to 
download and print a copy of your certificate. A hard copy will be mailed to you along 
with your oral code number. Your registration will be pending. Please be sure to read 
through the packet thoroughly to ensure completion of the registration process. You 
must have an active registration before working with controlled substances. 
 
 

Federal DEA Certificate Registrants may apply for their Federal Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) 
Registration after receiving their Hawaii Controlled Substance Registration. You must 
have a Hawaii CSR and a Federal DEA Registration that both have the same Hawaii 
business address and drug schedules before you can prescribe, dispense, and/or 
administer controlled substances. 
 
The DEA number is only valid in the state listed on the certificate. If you already have a 
DEA number, you may transfer it to Hawaii if you plan to discontinue practice in that 
state. If you are practicing in both Hawaii and another state, you may obtain a federal 
DEA number for both states. Please contact the Federal DEA by visiting their website 
at https://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/ for additional information. 
 
Upon receipt of the Federal DEA certificate, registrants are to send a copy to the 
Division by email at hawaiicsreg@hawaii.gov or fax it to 808-837-8474. The 
registration may then be activated after it’s received. 

 
 
Oral Code An oral code, also known as a call number, is a security code used to verify your 

identity. It enables you to call prescriptions into a pharmacy. It allows you to convey 
oral prescriptions for both non-controlled and controlled substances via telephonic 
and facsimile to a pharmacy.  It is a security code to verify your identity and should be 
kept confidential. Your oral code will be mailed to you upon approval of your 
application.   
 
You may only use your oral code while your CS registration is active.  If you no longer 
require a registration and are not prescribing controlled substances, you may inquire 
with our office to obtain an oral code specifically for non-controlled substances. 
 
 

Expiration Registration expiration dates are based on the first letter of your last name. New 
registrations with six months or more remaining will expire on the designated 
month/day listed and new registrations with less than six months remaining when the 
application is processed will expire on the designated month/day of the following year. 
 
Renewal Letter M Expiration Date 31-Jan  Inactivation Date 1-Mar* 
Renewal Letter S Expiration Date 28-Feb  Inactivation Date 1-Apr* 
Renewal Letter L,P Expiration Date 31-Mar  Inactivation Date 1-May* 
Renewal Letter Q,R Expiration Date 30-Apr  Inactivation Date 1-Jun* 
Renewal Letter U,V,W Expiration Date 31-May   Inactivation Date 1-Jul* 

              X,Y,Z  
Renewal Letter A,D Expiration Date 30-Jun  Inactivation Date 1-Aug* 
 

https://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/
mailto:hawaiicsreg@hawaii.gov
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Renewal Letter B Expiration Date 31-Jul  Inactivation Date 1-Sept* 
Renewal Letter C,E Expiration Date 31-Aug  Inactivation Date 1-Oct* 
Renewal Letter F,G Expiration Date 30-Sept  Inactivation Date 1-Nov* 
Renewal Letter H,N Expiration Date 31-Oct  Inactivation Date 1-Dec* 
Renewal Letter I,T Expiration Date 30-Nov  Inactivation Date 1-Jan* 
Renewal Letter J,K,O Expiration Dae 31-Dec  Inactivation Date 1-Feb* 
 
*If a registration is not renewed, it is inactivated (removed) from the active file one 
month after the expiration date. During this 30-day period, the Hawaii Controlled 
Substance Registration is considered expired (not valid) until the registration is 
renewed. It is unlawful to administer, dispense, and/or prescribe a controlled 
substance without an active and valid Hawaii Controlled Substance Registration. 

 
 
License Renewals Annual renewal of your registration is required to be in compliance to handle 

controlled substances. As mentioned above, expiration dates are generated by the 
first letter of the applicant’s last name so the date will not change. Initial applicants 
may have an expiration date that is under a year or over a year’s time for the first 
application due to the aforementioned system of generating the expiration date. 
 
Registration renewal is the registrant’s responsibility. Our office may send a renewal 
notice as a courtesy to each registrant at least 60 days and 30 days prior to the 
expiration, however, the option to renew will not be available more than 60 days prior 
to your expiration date. The renewal notice is sent via email to the registrant’s email 
address(es) on record. It is the registrant’s responsibility to ensure the email 
address(es) are up to date. Failure to receive the notice does not relieve the registrant 
of responsibility for renewing the registration prior to its expiration date and a late fee 
will be incurred. A registration can be renewed online at https://ned.ehawaii.gov/ or 
by completing the paper application form. 
 
In the event you do not renew your registration within 30 days after the expiration 
date, your registration will be inactivated. If you renew your registration after the 
expiration date, the full fee (including the late fee) is required though the newly 
renewed license may expire in less than one year. 
 
 

Inactivation  In the event a provider no longer needs their controlled substance registration, they 
must inform our office immediately of such in writing. The Request for Change in 
Registration form may be completed and emailed or faxed to our office to be 
processed. It is not recommended to let the registration lapse following its expiration 
date.  Should this occur, the registrant will be responsible for a late fee. 

https://ned.ehawaii.gov/
https://hawaiioimt-my.sharepoint.com/personal/iris_h_akamine_hawaii_gov/Documents/Front%20Office/00000.%20DLE%20Transition_Forms%20eff.%2001-01-24/Registrant%20Change%20of%20Information%20eff%2001-01-24.pdf
https://hawaiioimt-my.sharepoint.com/personal/iris_h_akamine_hawaii_gov/Documents/Front%20Office/00000.%20DLE%20Transition_Forms%20eff.%2001-01-24/Registrant%20Change%20of%20Information%20eff%2001-01-24.pdf

